Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
The Lost Rainforest #2
Cover of The Lost Rainforest #2
The Lost Rainforest #2
Gogi's Gambit
Borrow Borrow Borrow

The second book in New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer's Lost Rainforest series will thrill fans of Warriors and Spirit Animals with action and humor as the shadowwalkers battle to save their magical rainforest home.

Caldera always existed in harmony between the creatures who walk by day and those who walk by night—until an ancient evil awakened. In the year since the shadowwalkers' narrow escape from the Ant Queen, the ants' destruction has only spread.

Gogi, a shadowwalker monkey still learning to wield his fire powers, embarks on a quest with his friends—including a healing bat, an invisible panther, and a tree frog who controls the winds—for a powerful object that can harness the magic of the eclipse to defeat the Ant Queen.

But with just weeks before the next eclipse, Gogi must race to prove that he can control the mighty depths of his talent if he is to protect his friends, save the rainforest, and return home unsinged.

The second book in New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer's Lost Rainforest series will thrill fans of Warriors and Spirit Animals with action and humor as the shadowwalkers battle to save their magical rainforest home.

Caldera always existed in harmony between the creatures who walk by day and those who walk by night—until an ancient evil awakened. In the year since the shadowwalkers' narrow escape from the Ant Queen, the ants' destruction has only spread.

Gogi, a shadowwalker monkey still learning to wield his fire powers, embarks on a quest with his friends—including a healing bat, an invisible panther, and a tree frog who controls the winds—for a powerful object that can harness the magic of the eclipse to defeat the Ant Queen.

But with just weeks before the next eclipse, Gogi must race to prove that he can control the mighty depths of his talent if he is to protect his friends, save the rainforest, and return home unsinged.

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Eliot Schrefer is a New York Times bestselling author, has twice been a finalist for the National Book Award in Young People's Literature, and has won the Green Earth Book Award and the Sigurd F. Olson Nature Writing Award for Children's Literature. His novels include Endangered, Threatened, Rescued, Orphaned, two books in the Spirit Animals series, and the Lost Rainforest series. He lives in New York City, is on the faculty of the Hamline University and Fairleigh Dickinson University MFA in creative writing programs, and is the children's book reviewer for USA Today. Visit him online at www.eliotschrefer.com.

Reviews-
  • Kirkus

    October 15, 2018
    The Ant Queen is on the move again, putting all the inhabitants of the rainforest in danger, in this sequel to Mez's Magic (2018).While she and her minions are powerful, those born during the eclipse received magical abilities that enable them to fight the encroaching ant hoard. Gogi, the capuchin, blessed with ability to control fire, travels back to the site of the epic battle to meet with his friends. While his impulsive monkey brain often gets him in trouble, his emotional sensitivity makes him an invaluable ally. Mez the panther is gifted with invisibility and bravery. Lima the bat is an enthusiastic healer. And Rumi the tree frog is hyperintelligent and can control the wind. Now Rumi's calculations warn of another eclipse that will likely have its own effects on the residents of the Caldera. While the team is strong, their bonds will be tested by new friends, old enemies, and surprising twists. The second installment in this fast-paced fantasy is enhanced by the richly detailed rainforest setting. The characters choose to overcome stereotypes and interspecies prejudice, making this not only an entertaining read, but a tale about how to celebrate differences and still find unity. Another knockout in a series that will appeal to nature lovers, animal lovers, and fans of magical adventure. (Fantasy. 8-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ★ "The second installment in this fast-paced fantasy is enhanced by the richly detailed rainforest setting... a tale about how to celebrate differences and still find unity. Another knockout in a series that will appeal to nature lovers, animal lovers, and fans of magical adventure."
  • Booklist (starred review) ★"Schrefer's second book in the Lost Rainforest series continues the enthralling fantasy adventures of this eclectic group of animals and hints at where the next threat to the rain forest will come from. Fans of Mez's Magic and Katherine Applegate's Endling #1: The Last (2018) will eagerly devour Gogi's Gambit."
  • Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of the School for Good and Evil series  PRAISE FOR MEZ'S MAGIC: "Unlike anything I've read. Eliot Schrefer has mined the richness and depths of his setting to find a deeper magic, immersing us in a world that is at once complex, dangerous, beautiful, and ultimately demanding of our protection. A thrilling start to an exceptional new series."
  • Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ★ "While the story is pure fast-paced fantasy, the underlying issues are real. Ignorance among the species, racism, and intolerance of differences are rampant. An author's note highlights the beauty and importance of the rainforest. Magic with depth in this new series stunner."
  • School Library Journal "Just right for middle grade readers who want an engrossing fantasy adventure."
  • Publishers Weekly "With a memorable, quick-bantering cast, this kickoff to the Lost Rainforest series, a playful departure from Schrefer's ape novels, brings fresh perspective to the magical animal subgenre. And, despite the fantasy setup, readers will come away learning quite a bit about this ecosystem and its inhabitants."
  • New York Times Book Review "Mez's Magic is packed with as many jokes as fast-paced fight scenes. And Schrefer has created a stock of memorable characters—including Gogi, a monkey with self-esteem issues; Rumi, a delightfully urbane tree frog; and a manic, pixie-dream bat named Lima."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 5 titles every 30 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
The Lost Rainforest #2
The Lost Rainforest #2
Gogi's Gambit
Eliot Schrefer
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel